week seventy-four: “quit snorting or we’ll throw you on the grill”

Hi everyone! It was a wonderful and crazy busy week. Lots of meetings but all good things. 🙂 we kind of had cool things happen everyday so here ya go.

Monday night we met with a guy named Anthony who we met recently. We were able to teach him the restoration and he accepted a baptismal date! Wooo!! We might not be able to keep teaching him because he splits his time between Fullerton and Irvine…but I’m grateful that we found him and that he has the desire to be baptized.

Tuesday we had MLC. We mostly talked about talking with everyone, working with members, and finding people to teach. It was sooo good. I have such a strong testimony of talking with everyone. One of my favorite parts of missionary work is street contacting. It’s so awesome to just be able to go up to people and testify of Christ. Once we received the training, we were able to go give the same trainings to our zone and the Anaheim zone. Good times.

We had an awesome lesson with our investigator Emily this week. She’s on date to be baptized at the end of the month and she’s doing great! We originally were planning on teaching her about the gospel of Jesus Christ, but once we talked about how Christ cleanses us from sin, she asked how you know if something is a sin. We basically told her about all the commandments. I was nervous that afterwards she would tell us she didn’t want to have so many restrictions, but instead she told us she was so grateful we were there to teach her about the gospel and tell her what is right from wrong. She wasn’t raised with any religion or anything, so she didn’t know what she should and shouldn’t do in life. I’m so grateful that she recognized that the commandments are loving instructions from our Heavenly Father because they truly are. They are a blessing.

This weekend was amazing because GENERAL CONFERENCE. I was just in awe the whole time. A couple of weeks ago I started praying about what questions I needed to ask going into conference, and there were some I didn’t even know I had. Well, all of my questions were answered in some way. Heavenly Father truly is so mindful of us. He knows what we need when we need it.

We hadn’t been able to find any new investigators all week, until Sunday night. We were getting to the awkward time of 8:30pm when you feel weird about knocking on people’s doors, but you do it anyway. We went to go find a former investigator and ended up meeting his roommate, Nester, instead. This week, the new Easter video “Prince of Peace” came out (go watch it on mormon.org) and we were able to share it with Nester. It touched his heart and he set a return appointment with us. Miracles on miracles

With this new Easter initiative, I’ve thought a lot about how Jesus Christ is my Prince of Peace. It is truly only through Him that I have found continual peace. I know that He lives.

I hope you all have an amazing week!

Love,

Sister Martinez 💕

1. MLC
2. exchanges with Sister Whiting!
3. Invading Anaheim’s zone picture

Leave a comment